Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians . Other believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that government financial aids are needed to strengthen industries, and in turn, this assistance will foster the sectors’ contribution to both government and society. Some people believe that governments are compulsory to provide financial endorsements for creative industry workers, while others argue that this sector should seek alternative sources of funding. I partly agree with both sides because although the creative sector delivers significant contributions, there are other vital sectors that require to be invested heavily. Examining the proposing view, creative artists such as filmmakers, musicians, and sculptors play significant roles in introducing the cultural values of a particular country. For instance, in around 2018, an Indonesian music group called Weird Genius released a song called Latih, and this song successfully grabbed international attention related to the Javanese and Balinese culture. This artwork consequently increased globetrotters' influx to Bali Island and resulted in an increase in the locals’ income. In conclusion, the impacts of the creative sector are closely related to tourism, and currently, the number of Indonesia’s international tourists is progressively increasing, therefore, a total discontinuity of financial support to the creative field will hamper the existing progress. On the other hand, especially in several developing countries, investment initiatives in vital public services such as healthcare, transportation, and education are required. These sectors must be put into higher priority than the creative field because these sectors are related to the fundamental needs of citizens. For example, in Indonesia, the Human Development Index (HDI) now ranks around 100th, implying that there are pressing issues in the education field and intensive research projects into the field are needed. Moreover, a similar trend also happens in the health sector, Indonesia is ranked around 137th, which we can infer that a significant amount of funds are required to allocate for improving healthcare quality. Therefore, it is a smart move by the government to focus on the most pressing obstacles, and the creative industry stakeholders may seek various alternatives to funding. At its core, priorities can be determined through the nature of each sector and its relation to society, however, we can also consider the current noticeable progress of creative industries as a reason behind the amount of funding allocated.