Some people think that it is good for a country's cultures to show imported foreign films and TV programs. Other people think that a country should develop their own films and TV programs instead. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether movies and dramas produced by foreign nations have a positive effect on the cultural development of a nation. In my opinion, I think there are justifications for both sides. On the one hand, there are several reasons why imported films and TV programs have a beneficial impact on the country's culture. Firstly, the established film industry in certain countries is famous for its high-quality productions and therefore local filmmakers and producers can learn from them. For example, Hollywood blockbusters like the James Bond series are well-known for their special effects and a great number of local movies can try to imitate them. Secondly, this is essential to cultural diversity as well. At present days, cultural diversity plays an important role in our daily lives and local residents can enjoy foreign cultures by watching imported TV shows. On the other hand, I believe that governments should support local directors and TV programs at the same time. This is crucial to the local film industry. For instance, there are many talented amateur producers that need to be given an opportunity to prove themselves. Besides, with the development of local film corporations, a lot of film-related job opportunities are created. Furthermore, this can help to boost the local economy as more tourists are coming to visit. To take New Zealand as an example, thousands of sightseers visit this country because of the impressive scenery shown in the movie "Lord of the Rings". In conclusion, I believe that a country's culture can benefit not only from the development of local films and TV programs but also from importing their foreign counterpart.