Many old buildings are protected by laws because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings ? Should history stand in the way of progress ?

The clash whether to protect old buildings by laws as they are part of a country’s history or to pull them down to make way for not only residential but also working sites. In my opinion, it is important to preserve long-standing construction and history should not be sacrificed for the sake of progress. Without a shadow of a doubt, age-old buildings serve as historic testaments. And the explanation for this could be that we can gain a comprehensive understanding of heritage. For example, The Temple of Literature, which is the first university of Vietnam, plays a crucial role in Vietnam’s education and serves as an ideal place for tourists to gain a deeper understanding of our nation’s educational history. To be more specific, the stele inscribed with the names of successful scholars highlights the temple’s role as an academic center. Hence, old buildings are tangible links to the past. While the redeeming features of conserving antiquated constructions are widely acknowledged, history should not hold back the way of progress. It is a key drive to flourish the economic strength. And the explanation for this could be that it attracts thousands of tourists who flock every year, either domestic travelers or outbound tourists. Moreover, it generates job opportunities. To be more specific, the Imperial Citadel of Thang Long sells tickets for visitors to drop in in order to understand more about Vietnam’s history. So they have to hire more employees ranging from students to adults. By doing so, people’s lives can be enhanced. In conclusion, maintaining historic structures is crucial and they should not impede the way of progress.