Popular events like the Football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tension and safely releasing patriotic emotions.

It is believed that popular sporting events, such as the football world cup or the Olympics, would put a halt to political tensions and wars, even temporarily, and would cause patriotic feelings in different nations, especially the supporters of the winning teams and athletes. I strongly agree with this sentence for various reasons. To begin with, for each international event, every battle since ancient times would be stopped, and athletes should compete with each other in a safe sport-related environment. As an example, ancient Greeks and Romans ceased their quarrels every four years and participated in the Olympic games. Even at the present time, countries such as Israel and Palestine would put aside their differences and take part in fair competition. Another point to be considered is the fact that being a success in international sporting occasions will bring a patriotic sense to the nations. As an illustration, Brazil is constantly struggling with unemployment, lack of education and job opportunities. Even in some areas, Brazilians don’t receive clean water and don’t have access to basic facilities that are needed by humans. However, in every world cup that their team becomes the world ’s champion, they would feel proud of their country and have parades in honor of their team, carry their flag and sing their national anthem. In conclusion, as far as I’m concerned, having international sporting occasions can be the cause of not only world peace, even temporarily, but also patriotic emotions among the nations of the world. It’s a common belief that sports will eventually unite the world.