Society is becoming obsessed with material goods like fast cars,designer clothes and flashy jewellery. We have stopped caring about the important things and that is why divorce rates are high and family bonds are not as strong anymore;our value system is disintegrating.To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In our contemporary era, materialism is common among people. Our priorities such as love and respect have transformed into money. A significant number of marriages have ended in separation compared to the past. I believe that the most considerable reason for this phenomenon is our altered values about wealth. To begin with, there is no doubt that the necessary requirements to maintain a successful marriage are love and respect. In previous years, many relationships were based on these values and the divorce rates were considerably lower than present rates. However, as the years passed by, our intentions about family values and relationships changed into expensive cars, mansions and Haute-couture dresses. Thus, the lack of intimacy in relationships which were built based on logic has been increasing the rates of broken homes. For example, many people care about their own price tags nowadays rather than self-respect. Furthermore, today's young generations are growing up in broken families and they are experiencing these kinds of behaviour by learning materialism at an early age. A great number of adults buy expensive presents for their children as distraction gifts during the divorce process. Therefore, younger ones have already found out that money can solve any problems and the personal bonds between families can be bought. That is why, as long these behaviours are inherited to the next generations the number of people who are materialistic will have increased rapidly in the future. To conclude, many members of society judge people by their level of wealth and the objects that they can afford to buy in the beginning, and then they determine to know each other. As a result, our family bonds are weaker than ever. I completely agree with this statement because the foundations of relationships are inaccurate to maintain over years.