In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is common to see many people across the world adopting the dressing style of the west and neglecting traditional outfits. There are multiple reasons behind this, and it has both merits and demerits. One of the significant reasons behind this trend is the advancement of information technology. To be precise, the media showcase the adorable aspects of the western style, which reaches a wider population than in the past because of technological advancements. In addition, there are people who think that wearing this would uplift their social status and dignity, and some wear jeans and suits as they feel it is comfortable or their jobs demand it. When analysing the positive sides of this trend, people who wear western attire report that it gives them a sense of confidence and freedom. To be clearer, many traditional apparel is designed and worn in a complex way, but this is not the case with th western dress. Moreover, it should be seen as a step towards uniformity. When the dressing style becomes standard and uniform in nature; it brings a sense of equality among nations. The most prominent criticism of adopting this habit is that it can lead to cultural dilution. To explain it further, each culture has its own identity, and this identity is usually reflected by its dressing style and customs. The intrusion of western culture would dissolve such unique features, the critics point out. Of course, there is some truth in this. Another problem is that in many geographical areas, the climate would not be suitable to wear western trend outfits. To conclude, it is clear that technology and individual preferences are the main reasons why a growing number of people prefer western dresses to traditional ones, and the trend has both positive and negative impacts when looked at from different angles.