Students should be completely free to choose whether to study or play games. They should be allowed to manage their own time. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

With the advent of advanced technology, computer games have become so captivating that our future pillars are often driven to be obsessed with them at the expense of academics. This has sparked a hot heated debate over whether students should be granted complete autonomy to arrange their schedules. However, I cannot entirely agree with the idea that parents should deprive their children of the freedom to manage their own time. First, time management is a vital skill for children to succeed in the future. Allowing them to allocate their time after school is a valuable practice to master this skill. When they fail an exam, they will understand that they need to allocate more time to study rather than playing games next time. On the contrary, if they follow a study schedule constructed by their parents and fail an exam, they may only blame their parents instead of reflecting on their own actions. It is widely believed that learning through the consequences and rewards is more effective than just being told. Despite the fact that excelling in academics is the responsibility of the student, not their parents, some argue that children are not mature enough to structure their own schedules and thus parents should intervene in their study plans. However, some parents, who often understate the importance of leisure time, are unable to create the best timetable. In some Asian countries such as China and South Korea, helicopter parents often schedule overwhelming study plans for the children, resulting in a stressful childhood, which is also a factor contributing to the high juvenile suicide rate in these countries. Therefore, I believe that youngsters should have the freedom to take a breaks when needed. For the reasons mentioned above, it seems crucial to give students autonomy in managing their time, so that they can acquire time management skills and be responsible for their actions. Meanwhile, parents should respect their children ’s free will but provide guidance to instill the importance of study for the betterment of their children.