Some people think that sport is very important for society. Others, however, argue that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that athletics plays a vital role in society, while some assert that it is just an activity for leisure. In my opinion, I believe that there are justifications for both sides. There are several reasons why people assert that sport is nothing more than a leisure activity. For the majority of residents, physical activities can be seen as a way of entertainment. For instance, children and teenagers play football on the playground for fun, while working adults go to the gym or go jogging to relieve stress. Besides, some citizens may have no interest in playing games and would rather do other activities during leisure time. Therefore, they would not consider sport has any connection with society. Nonetheless, I would argue that athletics is fundamental to society. Firstly, it helps to improve the physical health of each person and this means that it can reduce the cost of healthcare. For example, residents will become stronger and healthier if they insist on doing regular physical activities, and they will be less likely to get an illness. Secondly, the sports industry is a big business nowadays and sports players can earn astonishingly high salaries. To take NBA as an example, millions of audiences watch live games on television and a huge number of related businesses benefit from this. Finally, some sports, such as football and volleyball, require cooperation and help to develop a sense of solidarity, both of which are crucial to society. In conclusion, I believe that sport is a good way for entertaining and is vitally important to society as well.