It is important for children to learn the different between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

It is said that kids ought to learn how to distinguish between correct and incorrect by punishment at a young age. However, I entirely oppose this statement, as other mild teaching methods can be used. First and foremost, I believe that we can use approaches other than punishment to teach students, such as case studies. It is true that punishment means hurting children both physically and mentally, like hitting them with a stick, when they did something wrong. In contrast, parents can let their kids understand what they should and should not do by telling them different cases. For instance, the majority of Western parenting tends to present some issues which are bad behaviours to alert their child not to complete it, such as taking drugs or drinking excessively. It reveals that offspring can still understand the way to distinguish right and wrong through this teaching method rather than punishing them when they misbehaved actions. On a whole, it is vital to educate teens using a mild way in an attempt to discourage them complete any incorrect actions. Nevertheless, it is not uncommon for parents to undergo physical punishments, like hitting, and slapping, when the youth are misbehaving. As we all know, physical retribution includes pain, so it allows teenagers to remember how wrong they did. Multiple pieces of research illustrate over 70% of individuals who owned a child claimed that their offspring won't do the bad behaviours again after retributing. It depicts that this method widely uses among mothers and fathers due to its effectiveness. This argument, though of certain validity at first glance, however, fails to reckon with the mental condition of adolescents. It is undoubted that youngsters will feel scared and worried if they experienced any painful damnation, a mental illness, named PTSD, which is common in children who have experienced serious punishments from their parents. By contrast, there are various approaches to teaching the youth, so that we can choose the one with less harm to the child. In a nutshell, I strongly disagree with this statement, as students can be taught by different practices instead of punishing them so as to create a pulling force toward bad actions.