The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over whether the price of fuel should be raised to solve the world’s environmental problems. While this opinion is valid to some extent, I do not consider myself an advocate of it. Without a shadow of a doubt, increasing the fuel price is not the optimal tactic to resolve environmental issues. Because all vehicles run on gas, residents have inelastic demand for oil. Therefore, even if the price is ever-increasing, people still buy petrol for their means of transport. For instance, although the Vietnamese government has just rise the cost of fuel, citizens do not mean to stop purchasing it. Since going to school or to work are daily tasks, an increase in fuel cost makes no difference in reducing the number of transportation. Hence, increasing oil prices is not an effective way to protect the environment. While an ineffective impact of the growth in the fuel price is widely acknowledged, there is a wealth of more far-reaching alternatives to address environmental problems such as utilizing electric hybrid vehicles. On the grounds that they need renewable energy thereby they do not release massive exhaust emissions and harm the air quality. For example, Vinfast, a notorious car make in Vietnam, produces a system of vehicles that use electricity not only to meet dwellers’ requirements but also to redress environmental problems. Thus, applying this kind of vehicle is one of the most efficient methods to deteriorate CO2. To sum up, it is not necessary for the fuel price to be increased but adopting other approaches is essential.