The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the tactic to address the global environmental issue. While some claim that it is necessary for the government to go up the fuel’s prices, the opposite makes a statement that there are a wealth of other solutions to improve this problem. While the former is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the latter. With a shadow of a doubt, increasing the price of fuel is not the optimal tactic to solve the environment’s issue. In this day and age, demand for oil is inelastic because all vehicles run on gas even if gasoline prices rise, people still have an ever-increasing demand to buy. For example, in recent years in Vietnam, although the authority has just raised the price of fuel so high, people still rush to buy this. It shows that the demand to go to school and go to work is a daily necessity, so an increase in gas prices makes no difference in the number of vehicles that people use. Thus, increasing the fuel’s prices is not an effective method to protect the surroundings. While an ineffective impact of the increase in the fuel’s price is widely acknowledged, there is a wealth of more far-reaching alternatives to address environmental problems. It is obvious that electric vehicles run on renewable energy and they do not release any massive exhaust emissions. Therefore, it does not have a negative effect on the air quality of the environment. For example, Vinfast, known as a celebrated car maker in Vietnam, has an eco-friendly tram system. Consequently, it can meet the travel needs of citizens without adversity affecting the air quality of the surroundings. Hence, the use of electric vehicles is one of the effective measures to reduce CO2, which can preserve the environment. In conclusion, raising the price of gasoline cannot be the best way to protect the environment, but besides that people can use public transport running on renewable energy.