Some people say that in our modern age, it is unnecessary to teach children about the skills of handwriting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the spread of modern technology in our daily lives, it is claimed by some people that in this era, our children do not need to learn to handwrite anymore. However, I tend to disagree with this point of view. I will then explain my perspective on the argument, and why I believe learning handwriting is still necessary is the reality because this can bring unique advantages. Firstly, learning handwriting is a more beneficial way for young children’s creative development. During the process of learning to print by hand, they need to manipulate their hands, at the same time, visualize the word in their brain. This approach of training stimulates their body coordination, and would cultivate children’s visualization and body reaction skills, which are essential for their future. Meanwhile, there is no denying fact that practising writing by hand could help students improve their concentration skills. To write clearly and nicely, young kids normally need to keep focused and practice several times. Although typing is a faster approach to printing, students still need to learn skills that need the patience to master to train their concentration at an early age, and writing manually is the easiest accessible measure to do so. Furthermore, it cannot be ignored that, although technology has been developed and spread widely in recent decades, there are still a lot of situations, such as paper-baed exams, that we still need to write by hand. Also, digital devices always have battery limits that are commonly not enough for the whole day. Thus, handwriting is still more accessible than typing with a digital device. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with handwriting-skill teaching being removed from early education because of the benefits for children’s cognitive development and better accessibility.