Some people think that detailed descriptions of crime scenes in newspapers and on TV can have a bad influence on the public, so this kind of information should be restricted in the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people reckon that meticulous lawbreaker descriptions widely published in newspapers and on television pose threats to the community, therefore, the information should be banned. I personally agree with the aforementioned opinion as this kind of news can urge some people to commit crimes and do harm to social stability. The first reason why detailed descriptions of crimes should be restricted is that these can trigger people, especially youngsters, to violate the law. In other words, many adolescents replicate the cruel acts shown in the news since they want to be as cool and strong as the ones on TV. For example, according to research, 32,5% of murderers had intentions of imitating some sort of crime description in the news, and 19,3% of them actually did it. Another justification for the restriction of detailed lawbreaker presentations is the public’s anxiety. The widespread cruel news can put citizens into great apprehension where they are afraid of being victims of potential crimes, and that will eventually create loose-knit communities. Others might claim that when the procedures of crimes are described meticulously on TV, they can act as alarming warnings of possible crimes in society so that people should pay extra attention to their safety. Even though this is seemingly true to a certain extent, I would argue that the benefits brought to the table cannot exceed the disadvantages. To be more specific, some people could be diagnosed with depression due to intense exposure to insecurity, which is detrimental not only to individuals but also to society as a whole. To sum up, detailed crime descriptions should be carefully censored and restrained due to their damaging effect on personal behaviours and society’s security. Also, the argument of these acting as an alert is mostly invalid.