any museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than local people. Why is this? What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Tourism is one of the main contributors to a country's economic growth. There is an increasing trend of foreigners paying a visit to museums and historical places as compared to the locals. This essay will highlight the principal causes and the possible solutions to tackle this issue. In my opinion, due to the advances in information and technology, people are travelling abroad more frequently. Nowadays we can travel to every corner of the world by plane, which is very convenient and time-saving as well. For example, it only takes a two hour flight to reach Thailand from Malaysia. Hence, people are more likely to travel abroad. Moreover, information regarding cultures and history of a nation is easily accessible through the Internet. Also, thanks to globalisation, tourists are more interested to learn about the traditions of people from different backgrounds. Nevertheless, there are several ways to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites. First of all, the government can allocate money to producing promotional videos about places with the value of history. Furthermore, promotional events such as discounts on entrance fees especially for the local people would also be another good attraction. Lastly, schools can arrange more learning trips to expose children and enhance their knowledge of the country's culture and history. Through these experiences, people are more likely to pass down the information to their offsprings in the future. In conclusion, although places with historical values are frequented by foreigners, measures by the government and educators can help to promote the importance of these sites.