Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

Offenders committing crimes again after relieving from prison has become a matter of great concern. This is mainly due to lack of employment, but it can be controlled by providing jobs according to their qualification. Amongst the major factors, having no jobs is perhaps the most contributing significant element. That is to say, most people who were incarcerated have no money to fulfil the basic needs of their life. As a result, they again started to commit heinous crimes. Moreover, lack of support is another concern. This is because sometimes in prison nobody provides proper rehabilitation to criminals which aid to stop committing crimes and adopting the right paths. In the USA, for instance, providing adequate counselling sessions to offenders in prison helps to reduce the rate of crime by 80% and they live a normal life instead of committing crimes. Turning to solutions, the Government ought to come forward to overcome this issue by providing jobs to people according to their qualifications. By doing this, they become workaholics and are less likely to indulge in criminal activities since they lack time to think about the wrong path. Not only this, higher authorities must provide rehabilitation services to divert the mind of offenders by using counselling sessions, individual therapy and recreational activities. In this way, these activities cause indelible print in their mind and make their thinking positive. Also, family members should support people to choose the right path by giving examples of innocent, good and hardworking people. In conclusion, despite the fact that committing crime again after relieving from prison is a major concern we are facing today, if appropriate actions are taken by the government and individuals, it can be controlled to a greater extent.