Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

People can have a variety of jobs, which makes them decide whether to stick with the same occupation for a long time or shift to different jobs periodically. Most of them prefer to be self-employed because it gives them more freedom, but they would easily become financially unstable because of the temporary jobs. Being self-employed provides more freedom and autonomy. This can lead to less stressful lives and decrease the burdens that they may have because it is unnecessary for them to abide by the strict rules and norms that every company holds. For example, freelancers would be more delighted in doing their jobs because they can fully express their passions without feeling overwhelmed by getting complaints from the company. Additionally, they also will have many options in choosing their jobs, which will lead them to obtain numerous experiences in various fields. However, a self-employed person has a drawback that should be considered because they will not have a stable job, considering they do not legitimately make a contract as an official worker. Therefore, it will affect them financially by getting fluctuating income. To exemplify, a person who is self-employed as a content writer cannot determine what jobs he will occupy in the future, it might just be a job for small or renowned brands. Hence, the wages of each job will be unpredictable, which is not recommended for creating a long-term plan. To summarize, freedom and autonomy will drive people to become self-employed, which allows them not to be entangled with strict rules. Nevertheless, it can bring them down in financial aspects since it would be difficult for them to have a long-term scheme by projecting their uncertain revenues.