Some people think that it is best to live in a horizontal city while others think of a vertical city. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

House is a fundamental necessity of society. Some have argued that living in a landed house is better than a skyscraper. In my opinion, it is best to live in a vertical city. However, this essay will explore both aspects, and demonstrate why its proponents are correct. To begin with, high-rise property can accommodate more people. Nowadays it is very difficult to find a place to live in a city due to overpopulation. People are more likely to get a roof over their heads with the availability of vertical apartments. For example, Dubai's tallest building, the Burj Khalifa, can accommodate hundreds of thousands of people. Furthermore, vertical buildings are also much cheaper than wider houses. For instance, the price of detached houses in Malaysia is twice as much as the price of apartments. In addition, apartments are easy to settle in as problems such as garbage and security are handled by the management. On the other hand, horizontal houses are usually bigger in space. People can plant vegetables, flowers, and trees in their housing areas. This also contributes to a greener environment. Moreover, landed houses are less vulnerable to natural disasters such as earthquakes. For instance, a few years ago, a tall apartment in Japan had collapsed due to an earthquake and caused numerous deaths. On top of that, horizontal houses are more convenient for older people as they do not need to climb up stairs. In conclusion, I believe that people have their own preferences in choosing a house. However, in my opinion, it is best to live in a horizontal city than a vertical city.