International tourism has become a huge industry in the world. It has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the problems of international tourism outweigh its advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Cheap air travel, technological advancements, and globalization have opened doors for international tourism giving rise to both unprecedented advantages as well as disadvantages. This essay will discuss the benefits and negative consequences brought by the popularity of international tourism and argue that the advantages it offers well exceed the demerits it has. One major disadvantage of international tourism is the damage caused to the environment due to it. Air travel is a major contributor to carbon emissions and global warming, making it a big concern for many environmentalists. Moreover, the local custom and way of life are influenced heavily by the custom and traditions brought by international tourists, risking the traditional way of life and century-old customs. As a result, global cities look almost the same, and it is hard to tell the difference between a local and an alien culture in many cities around the world. On the contrary, global tourism has many positive outcomes. It creates huge job opportunities and economic movement, and many countries, including the Maldives, the Bahamas, Thailand, Indonesia, Anguilla, Spain, Aruba and Macau depend on this industry. Global tourism is the main economic driving force in such countries, and without the rise of international tourism, their economy would have struggled. Moreover, people can go to a country where medical treatment is better than in their own country. For instance, a large number of people visit developed countries each year for better treatment, and this is a positive development that ensures quality healthcare for many people. Finally, people travel to other countries to enjoy their holidays, and this is a great opportunity for learning about diverse cultural aspects. With the increasing international tourism, people have a better understanding of foreign cultures, and it helps reduce the gap between nations. In conclusion, international tourism has some environmental and cultural issues. However, the opportunity and potential it has already created far outweigh its disadvantages. I believe that in this era of globalisation, international tourism will expand rapidly to bring benefits to all nations.