The primary purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computers, software, videos, and DVDs. To what extent you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, the public library becomes more and more popular in people's daily life. Some people think that only books should be provided in a public library and the other resources are unnecessary. My view is that both books and any others resources that can provide knowledge should be accessible in a library. On the one hand, providing books is not the primary purpose of public libraries. This is because the primary purpose of public libraries is to provide knowledge to all citizens and books are just one of the easiest ways to help everyone to learn knowledge. Therefore, libraries should provide any resources to people that can provide knowledge,not just books. Moreover, some people like to go to the library because of the comfortable environment. For instance, a lot of people like to go to study in the library because they feel peaceful and help them to improve their efficiency. So they are not going to the library for books. On the other hand, providing expensive hi-tech media is not wasting limited resources. Because digital resources becomes more and more important in the modern world. For example, people can find any resources online right now and hi-tech media such as videos and DVDs is easier to maintain and save space. So hi-tech media should become an important part of libraries in the future. In conclusion, if public libraries can provide computers and videos rather than books only, it will be good for all citizens. Moreover, hi-tech media will become the future of the library, because it will reduce the cost of maintenance.