Instead of training a few athletes to win medals at the Olympics, governments should spend the money on programmes encouraging the public to be active and stay healthy. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Many people think that a scheme that will help and improve people's health and life is one of the crucial things that the country should focus on rather than waste a lot of money to gain Olympic medals. I agree with that, as healthy communities will increase productivity and will lead to better satisfaction in either work or life. First and foremost, a healthy nation means healthy minds. Programmes that will improve people's health, will help them to have better ways of thinking, and future goals, make them disciplined and it will improve their time management. For instance, if one has a healthy diet and runs every day, he will be able to do his tasks easily as he has learnt how to be committed to something. Furthermore, this will help the country to improve and take a step forward, as its population IQ will take a steep up. Secondly, society will have to do daily exercises which may be eating healthy food or going to the gym, and this will make them feel like they made progress during their day. These short-term daily goals will let their body produce a hormone called dopamine and it will make them happier during their day. In addition, they will start to work harder and love their job as they want to have great achievements and have this hormone to be produced and experience the same beautiful feelings again. To sum up, despite the importance of winning the Olympic games and its benefits to the country, I believe that investing in the community to make them healthier will make the country thrive more.