In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message.

In a few societies, youngsters are frequently advised that if they put in a tremendous amount of effort they can accomplish anything at all. Firstly this essay will discuss motivation being the resultant lasting advantage and secondly, the disadvantage of self-doubt may be caused by failure, followed by a conclusion. On the positive side, offspring at a young age are not aware of the achievements that await them if not given direction. This guidance not only increases their odds of success in life but nevertheless, also gives them belief in their talents and abilities. Such self-assurance as an outcome keeps them motivated to keep moving towards the goal they set. This lasting stimulus stays with them as they grow up and proves to be beneficial in their lives. For example, in 2018 a survey conducted by the psychology department of University of the Cambridge, 64% per cent of the individuals who were now chairman of their companies had motivation as a key interpersonal skill built by their parents in their early childhood. On the negative side, while this norm helps adolescents to do more every day, this might bring a sense of self-doubt in these teenagers as it does not necessarily mean that they will reach whatever they work hard for. There is a right timing for everything in this universe and this is why failures are part of one's life. Failures help individuals in self-growth due to the lessons it teaches, however, children have sensitive brains and they cannot fully understand this concept this is why they stop believing in themselves and stop working diligently thinking they might never be able to reach what they want. For example, in 2016, research published by the Newyork Times showed that almost 36 per cent of students were skipping the classes they failed because they had faith they will not be able to pass as they were not able to get the grades they prepared for and were ready to surrender the course for another one. In conclusion, motivating children to work hard so that they can achieve almost every available thing may give them the drive to keep doing more, moreover, can also give some weak-minded feeling of being a failure