The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the tactics to address the world’s environmental issues. While some claim that the sole approach to solving this problem is to increase the fuels’ costs, others make a statement that other effective solutions are greatly reliant on various elements. While the former is valid to some extent, I regard myself as an advocate for the latter. Evidently, increasing the price of the combustion of fossil fuels is not the optimal tactic to solve the environmental problem. To be specific, there is an inelastic demand for oil since almost all vehicles are powered by gas. Hence even if the price of gas heavily hikes, the ever-increasing requirement of citizens still goes up. For instance, in Vietnam, although the governors have just surged the price of fuels, an eclectic mix of residents who have an ever-growing inexorable appetite for going to work and studying still flock to buy gasoline with a view to meet their demand. Therefore, raising the price of petrol makes no difference in reducing the use of automobiles, which is also not the most effective way to resolve environmental quality. While an ineffective impact of the increase in the fuel’s price is widely acknowledged, there is a wealth of more far-reaching alternatives to address environmental issues. To be particular, a wealth of electric vehicles which run on sustainable energy sources do not emit a volume of greenhouse gasses. For example, Vinfast, which is one of the most notorious car-makes in Vietnam, has a system of eco-friendly means of transportations. It not only meets the great demand of the inhabitants but also does not seriously affect the air quality. Thus, using environmentally-friendly vehicles is one of the most effective approaches to either protect the surroundings or deteriorate the amount of carbon footprints. To sum up, growing the petrol’s costs is not the only way to solve the deterioration in environmental quality. There are other effective solutions, for example, making use of bio-friendly transport which runs on renewable energy with a view to reducing the emission of carbon dioxide.