Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion. While some people hold the idea that nowadays individuals become more dependent on each other, others consider that people tend to be alone in big cities and thus more independent. Personally, I keep the same point with the latter because we have to face many things in the modern world by ourselves. It seems logical that people are more dependent on each other now. The primary reason is that life is more complex and difficult, especially because the cost of living has increased so dramatically. For example, young adults always suffer from low-salary jobs and rely on their parents for help when buying a house. Due to the higher expense than ever, it would be impossible for many people to pay a deposit and a mortgage without help. Secondly, people seem to be more ambitious nowadays, and they want a better quality of life for their families. This means that both parents usually need to work full-time, and they depend on support from grandparents and babysitters for child care. However, regardless of the above arguments, I still agree with those who believe that people are more independent these days. In most countries, families are becoming smaller and more dispersed, which means that people have fewer opportunities to communicate with their parents and relatives. We also have more freedom to travel and live far away from our hometowns. For example, many students choose to study abroad instead of going to their local university, and this experience makes them more independent as they learn to live alone. Another factor in this growing independence is technology, which allows us to work alone and from any part of the world. In conclusion, while there are some reasons to believe that people now depend on each other more, my own view is that we are more independent than ever.