Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? You should give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge to support your response.

Nowadays, English is becoming widely required knowledge in many countries as accelerated globalization with the internet development and cost-friendly transportation, communication with a common language improves efficiency at daily and business levels. Thus, as multiple nations acknowledge the importance of English and its convenience, less consideration of the mother language has been put in place. Although it is handy if English is taught at school, own language should be considered with priority as it conveys national pride and identity and cultural character of the countries. Without the identity of the nation, the differentiation of countries would not exist. Thus, the governments should take action to protect their own languages. There are several ways to protect the language of own. Firstly, the mother language should be taught as a primary language at every school. whereas learning a second or third language can be guided at school to access worldwide resources and networking globally. In addition, there are many populations who live overseas and talk in their languages less. The government should promote its cultural importance and benefits to those people to support them to talk in their language more and more and may implement the program for teaching national languages to kids living overseas. In conclusion, although learning English is useful to people who work and network globally, native language must be put first due to its benefits for nations. Therefore, the regulation should support prioritising own language to be taught first at the local level and national people all over the world to remember their mother language. In many countries, studying English is considered paramount to the mother language, otherwise living in a modern environment will be much more challenging. In my perspective, however, the native language is more crucial than the other language to learn although there are advantages to studying English and own language of the countries should be preserved in many ways.