Advanced technology has brought many beneficial changes to the world. However, some old people today struggle with the use of technologies such as mobile phones and the Internet. How can the elderly benefit from using advanced technologies? How can the elderly be encouraged to use consumer electronics more often?

The evolution of technology has resulted in many positive modifications throughout the world. Although, this development has become a little cumbersome for the elderly as these are different from conventional methods of doing things. However, this change could help them in getting more independent. The advantages as well as ways to promote its uses are highlighted in the following paragraphs. Firstly, modular devices such as internet-equipped smartphones have made a lot of manual tasks easy thereby making people self-reliant as everything can be done with a click of a finger in the comfort of their homes. To illustrate further,a survey has been conducted by United Nations Educational, Science and Cultural Organization indicating the second -highest increase of 51 percent in the utilization of virtual services beyond the age of 55 and above. Furthermore, senior citizens who live alone feel connected to their children and families through better communication facilities available nowadays. Even though the consumption of modern assets is increasing yet the task should be made easy if the companies take initiative and provide customer-friendly services especially, for senior citizens. For instance, 61 percent of electronic dealers now provide tutorials for aged people to encourage and increase their understanding of the gadget. Additionally, youngsters are considered tech-savvy and should be extending a helping hand to the adults in the family to imbibe the habit of doing errands virtually. In conclusion, the pace of advancement is fast yet the aged members of society are trying to cope with the newer ways, giving up on their outdated techniques and therefore should be provided with the required guidance for the betterment of the entire community.