With an increasing overweight population some people think universities should make sport a compulsory module on all degree courses. To what extent do you agree?

It is irrefutable to deny that people are living an unhealthy lifestyle which causes obesity. Therefore, there are people who believe that educational institutions should introduce sports as a mandatory subject across all courses. To begin with, the fundamental cause of the overweight population is the availability of junk foods. These foods are cheap and consume less time to prepare. They are high in sugar, oil and salt whereas, low in protein and nutrition, leading to obesity, diabetes and heart problems. Secondly, humans are living a sedentary lifestyle. For example, to buy groceries from the nearest market, people prefer vehicles rather than walking. In this fast-paced life, it is difficult to allot time for a walk hence a majority of the population prefers to order groceries either online or visit the supermarket by driving a vehicle. There are people who believe that universities should equally focus on the subject of sports. Sports have been considered a secondary subject in the curriculum hence, students neglect the module and consider this period as leisure time. If authorities make this a primary subject then students will take it as seriously. There are several benefits of sports. Firstly, it keeps the body and minds healthy. Physical exercises can reduce stress hormones and energize the soul. Doctors recommend that everyone should exercise for 30 minutes a day for a healthy lifestyle. If these attributes are taught by schools in the early stage of life then people will stick to these principles forever which, give them a better life. In conclusion, I believe that Universities must include sports - a prime subject as junk foods are tempting but with proper actions like exercise, yoga, and playing sports one can reduce the chances of health issues.