In some countries, students live with their family while studying at a university. In other countries, students attend university in another city. Do you think the advantages of living away from home while attending university outweigh the disadvantages?

Education is a fundamental necessity of society. It is believed that in some nations, students stay with their parents while pursuing higher education. In other countries, students live away from home while attending university. In my opinion, the advantages of living away from home while studying at a university outweigh the drawbacks. However, this essay will discuss both, the advantages and the disadvantages of this aspect. First of all, young people can learn to be independent when they live away from their parents. For example, when they fall sick, they are required to seek medical attention on their own. Children also have to do house chores such as washing plates and sweeping floors on their own. Furthermore, students are able to pick up interpersonal skills when they live with strangers. They have to cooperate with strangers while living under the same roof. On top of that, parents are allowed to have more free time for themselves when their children are not staying with them. They can spend their time travelling abroad and hanging out with friends. On the other hand, there are several disadvantages to attending tertiary education in another city. As youngsters are easily influenced by their friends, they are more likely to fall victim to negative peer pressure. Hence, resulting in the use of alcohol and drugs without the supervision of their parents. As a result, there may be an increase in the crime rate. In conclusion, although there are several drawbacks for students attending university away from home, they are significantly outweighed by the advantages. Students are able to be more independent while living away from home. Thus, reducing the burden on their parents.