It is observed that, currently more and more people are working longer hours. What are the causes of this phenomenon? What effects does this have on the society?.

In the 21st century, many observers said that several people are working more and more hours every day. This essay will discuss why citizens have to do more effort and how this phenomenon affects society. First of all, the reasons causing this issue involved money and social status. Working more could help increase earnings and might have a higher chance to be promoted; therefore, workers may have a better living standard. Moreover, nowadays, many jobs required employees to work 8 to 10 hours a day before signing. Thus, in order to get stable funding annually, workers must have to do as twice as in the past. For example, the world’s richest man Elon Musk, in an interview done by The Times, revealed that he had to task 15 to 20 hours a day to create the Electricity car company, Tesla. On the other hand, this phenomenon contains both advantages and drawbacks. Firstly, working more means that people are rising their creativity and knowledge, then, it can be used for improving the economy and several environmental problems. However, working 10 hours a day can cause many health issues and breadwinners may lose a lot of time spent with their families. For instance, according to research by The University of Sydney, 70% of young people around the age of 25 have to work full week; therefore, leading to a number of health problems such as heart disease and brain damage. In conclusion, working more hours is not a bad trend. Nevertheless, governments must have some measures to deal with this concern.