In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

Nowadays, people tend to use plenty of care products and cosmetics, and some of them are designed to change the body colour by lightening it. To my mind, it is a completely unreasonable procedure. Firstly, the chemicals that are involved in this process can damage the skin. Secondly, the idea of changing the natural appearance when there is no medical need for that is a huge social stereotype that should be rethought or ignored. On the one hand, it is scientifically proven that any artificial manipulations with skin colour can be harmful to the person who abuses it. Moreover, it can cause certain horrible diseases, such as cancer. As an example, in many countries, the number of solariums decreased significantly due to their proven bad effect on the epidermis. Similarly, the lightning procedure can be toxic due to its unnaturalness. On the other hand, human beings fall for this trap of social beauty standards that change extremely fast with time. For instance, in the 1990s, most of the world-famous models were generally white-skinned with plain faces, while, in contrast, in the 2000s, there were many more tanned celebrity idols from South American countries; thus, in society, it became viral to sunbathe and use solariums. Summing up, it is still popular in society to conduct manipulations with their appearance and pigmentaccordingly; however, in my opinion, the only reasons for doing that are highly volatile stereotypes and beauty standards. Following these trends, such as skin whitening, may be extremely harmful to health. Therefore, it is always better to value and praise natural beauty and not make anyone fall for products that may cause health damage just to be in trend.