There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages as a form of assessment ?

These days, when young people are at university, teachers tend to evaluate students through various tests rather evaluating them constantly. However, it is necessary to consider both benefits and drawbacks related to this trend. To elaborate, nowadays, people studying at university need to prepare different exams regarding any subject their educators teach them. Besides this, since any test takes place in certain periods of the academic year, they might have the interest in studying on all the things they have to learn. In case any person prepares his or her test with others, he or she, certainly, enjoy sharing his or her opinions with people of the same age. However, whenever teachers do not assess the knowledge of their students constantly, young people might spend a lot of time watching their favourite movies and listening to any song they like. Consequently, they do not have the possibility of passing their exams because they are not willing to study anything. In conclusion, I personally think that any student could learn how to manage their time and cooperate with others if he or she is evaluated through exams in the university he or she studies in.