Nowadays genetically modified food is widespread all over the world. While proponents of GM crops ensure that these foods are safe for human consumption and help to increase food supplies, others argue that their effects on health have not been studied long enough. Describe pros and cons of genetically modified foods

It is considered by some that genetically altered food is safe to eat while there are others who think that it is the major reason for many health issues. The major advantages of these foods are that it contains the micro-nutrients that are essential for human and the ability to have an increased yield; however, there is a possibility that these artificial changes to food may affect negatively human health and also able to create dominance over food. One of the major objectives of changing the genetic structure of a food is to enrich it with essential nutrients for humans. As such, eliminate the need to eat a variety of food to get the vital supply of nutrients and consequently reduce the amount of consumption. For example, a research group at Harvard University made a potato which includes several types of Vitamins and essential proteins. Hence eating only this potato eliminate the need to eat meat, fruits and vegetables thereby reducing consumption. Furthermore, genetically modified foods have a greater yield and thus are a solution to the food shortage. For instance, England is now farming GNO-modified corn and as a,result their yield has increased by 50%. On the other hand, GMO food has given rise to many new health problems. It is unavoidable to completely remove the chemicals used to change the genetic structure of the food and there is a chance that it would migrate into the people's bodies and cause various sicknesses. For example, research done by Oxford university shows that some people who are not allergic to natural corn are allergic to genetically altered corn. Similarly, these changed food does not have the ability to grow naturally and people are not able to grow them in their home garden. This causes society to depend on farmers heavily for their meals which is a dangerous fact. To illustrate, Sri Lankans got used to eating GM rice from India and due to a political issue it stopped sending the rice and the country was devastated by the shortage of rice. In conclusion, GM food offers a variety of different growth factors and provides a solution to the shortage of food. But they also have the ability to adversely affect human health and build food dominance over, dependent societies.