Some people think that the detailed criminal description on newspapers and TV has bad influences, so this kind of information should be restricted in the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many people assume that too much criminal information reported on news platforms may have negative effects, so it should be limited. Personally, I totally agree with this viewpoint due to a few reasons. To begin with, too detailed reports may give rise to the number of the same criminal cases. To be more specific, since many teenagers are very curious and have a strong desire to be noticed, they tend to mimic or replicate the infractions provided that those infringements are demonstrated in detail with the procedures, the tools or the time. For instance, Shinichiro Azuma, a 14-year-old teenager killed two young students in 1997 by cutting off their heads after watching an American documentary about a killer named Zodiac. As he was arrested, he admitted imitating Zodiac, who performed the same acts. Consequently, this may pose a threat to the community as the number of crimes increases. Another justification for why I oppose the detailed presentation of crimes via mass media is that public members’ anxiety could be triggered. Since many residents are afraid of becoming victims of violent acts, they may not be willing to interact with others. As a result, this will lead to a loose-knit community, in which people do not want to help those in need. In conclusion, I do not believe the detailed criminal report in the media is a good idea because it provokes immature individuals to act in the same cases as well as weakens the structure of society. It is advisable that the government should strictly ban the details of criminals from broadcasting widely to avoid adverse influences on the viewers.