With deforestation, urban development and illegal hunting, many animal species are becoming endangered and some are even facing extinction. Do you think it is important to protect animals? What can be done to deal with this problem?

Due to population explosion and technological advances, the past century has witnessed an increase in deforestation, the spawling of urban cities, and poaching. As a result, many animal species are on the verge of extinction. In this essay, I will explain why I feel the conservation of wildlife is vital for mankind and come up with some solutions which may address this problem. Protecting animals is crucial because it can bring huge ecological benefits to human beings. A simple but undeniable fact is that species in ecosystems are interdependent. Every creature has its role to play in food chains and therefore the extinction of one species can trigger a "domino effect", which can eventually lead to a catastrophic result. The grey wolf in Yellowstone national park is a well-known example. The sharp dwindling of predators unexpectedly leads to the collapse of the local ecosystem, and even after years of ecologists' endeavors the system still can not be fully recovered. Accordingly, it is fair to say animal protection is crucial for humans. To save endangered species, there are two necessary measures that should be taken. First of all, the government should introduce stricter laws to curb human activities like overfishing, overly business development of forests, deforestation for agricultural purposes and so on, because those behaviors can place a damaging influence on natural habitats and their inhabitants. Secondly, more advanced technologies should be used. It is widely known that the main obstacle conservationists faced is law enforcement. Take African black rhino poaching as an example, because of short of law enforcement staff, poachers can always find ways to do illegal hunting. This problem can be solved by applying AI technologies such as computer vision and computer audition to monitor nature reserves continuously. In conclusion, animal protection has hugely positive impacts on mankind in terms of ecology. And I believe this trend of extinction can be reversed by enacting stricter laws and utilizing emergent technologies like artificial intelligence.