In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the Internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Nowadays people tend to work from home using modern technology rather than commuting to their workplace. While there are some certain advantages of this trend, it also has some drawbacks. On the one hand, this development is advantageous in several aspects. One of its benefits is that working online helps employees reduce the time of travelling to their workplace. By using advances in technology, they can work at home with technological devices with some useful apps for their work. As a result, they can contribute more time to their own work, which will greatly increase their efficiency. Furthermore, if many staffs work from home, they can communicate with others more conveniently by taking advantage of numerous kinds of modern technology. For example, some useful apps like Zoom or Google Meets help clients create online meetings which support employees from many places to work together easily. On the other hand, this tendency of the community has some disadvantages. Firstly, if employees work at home using technical devices, they can meet the risk of interruption for some reasons caused by the Internet. Many delays will lead to less efficient delivery, which will affect the progress of the work. Another drawback is that working on the Internet may give opportunities for hackers to rob the data of a company, which brings about extraordinary consequences. For instance, some businesses in Vietnam have to delay their projects because of some revealing of their private information about trading plans. In conclusion, it seems that the trend of working at home instead of going to the workplace has several separate benefits and drawbacks.