Missions to explore space are hugely expensive, and there are problems on Earth which demand attention. The number of these missions needs to be reduced. Do you agree or disagree?

Life on Earth faces serious risks mainly due to global warming, and humans in particular still experience starvation in less developed countries. Therefore, it is clear that these and other many chalenges require urgent attention. However, there is an enormous amount of money being spent on missions to explore space. I agree with those who advocate for a reduction in the number of these missions. Satelites are needed for communication and allied defense programs, so it is definitely necessary to keep up with investments in this sector. But, there is also a pressing need for funds to solve other life- threatning risks for the whole humanity. For example, governments should subsidize companies with reduced carbon footprint, like biodiesel alternatives that steal more carbon from atmosphere during cultivation than leave when burnt. Likewise, there are many other companies and startups focused on solving earthly issues, as biotechs that develop super foods that could exterminate famine forever. Transgenic plants, for instance, although controversial, can deliver all essential aminoacids to people suffering from malnutrition. This is not to say that space exploration is not important, but it does imply that a better diligent distribution of funds must be done in order to avoid colapse on Earth's ecosystem. Still, some entrepreneurs believe that the planet is doomed, so they will build new colonies elsewhere. In fact, this argument makes no sense, as it would be more productive if they invested money on solving real-life issues that affect humankind. Hence, the amount delivered to space exploration should be limited to the actual necessary to avoid wars, not more than that. In conclusion, I believe that the number of exploratory missions should, at least, not be increased, and more funds ought to be given to companies offering solutions to demanding problems on Earth. If that is taken seriously by lawmakers, we will live in a peaceful world.