The best way to make people use cars less is make them pay a road toll on busy roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Write about 250 words.

In a contemporary society, governments have been taking a variety of measures to encourage people to use cars less. Some people claim that imposing tolls on roads in heavy traffic can be the best way to reduce their car usage. I strongly support this idea from the environmental and psychological perspectives. Examining the former standpoint to begin with, the reduction in amount of traffic on busy roads due to implementing a road toll can be a contributor to mitigating the situation of the present serious air pollution. In fact, there is substantial scientific evidence that backs up the proposition that the energy consumption efficiency of vehicles deteriorates on a road with heavy traffic, which is one of the major factors of pollutants emitted by them. Therefore, if individuals avoid busy roads because of road tolls, they can become more environmentally friendly. Shifting focus to the latter standpoint, people will try to avoid passing through busy streets if a road toll is implemented because they potentially have a psychological tendency to try to avoid even small expenses. For example, many countries have abolished free plastic bags service in shops. Even though each bag costs consumers a little, many of them quit purchasing the bags and instead, they now bring their own eco-bags. I believe that this example can be applicable to the problem of people ’s heavy car usage. Hence, if a road poll is not expensive, the psychological impact on car users can be huge. To reiterate, although it would be challenging for governments to forbid people from using cars, I am firmly convinced that imposing tolls on busy roads is the most effective strategy to alleviate people ’s car usage in terms of the environment and psychology.