Many people are optimistic about the 21st century and expect scientists to make positive changes to the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with their optimism? What changes do you like to see in your new century?

Although being an optimist is beneficial for the well-being of every individual, it is also very important to be realistic. In the case of predictions for the 21st century, not expecting too many changes in the world from scientists may make me seem like a pessimist, but I consider it be realistic. To begin with, if we simply look at the past inventions that scientists made, the way they affected our day-to-day life is far worse than expected. Even tho, this probably was not their intention, they could have predicted it. A clear example of this is social media. I considered that the disadvantages ought weight the advantages. If we look at the effect that they are having on the population, especially the younger population, it is clear to see that social networking has a rather bad effect on them. Secondly, I consider that scientists are not trying to solve the problem overall, but more so to make it seem like they are. An example of this is the invention of air cleaners. Although this does resolve the problem that an individual is having it does not resolve the problem altogether, furthermore it makes it even worse. A change that I would really like to see is scientists focusing more on environmental issues like this one. On the other hand, it is widely known that scientists are capable of making really good changes. By this I mean we have seen them make amazing inventions such as recycling. This has helped our environmental issues a lot. To conclude, even tho scientists have not been focusing their knowledge on the right things it's never late to have a change of direction and make positive changes in the world. For this reason is still have hope.