People continue to commit crimes even after being punished for it. Why do you think this happens? How can crime be stopped?

It is true that some lawbreakers re-offend after serving a prison sentence or other kinds of punishment. In this essay, I will discuss why this happens and what measures we can introduce to tackle this problem. Ex-prisoners may continue to commit crimes mainly for two reasons. Firstly, the sentence may be not strict enough for them. For example, thieves are reported to have a high re-offending rate in some countries because the punishment for stealing is relatively loose. Secondly, nowadays working adults need to be well-qualified in the competitive job market, so it would be extremely difficult for ex-prisoners to apply for a position because they have no appropriate skills or qualifications. This means that they might have no means to make a living or support themselves financially, so they have to commit crimes again, which seems to be the easiest way for them to earn money. In order to solve the problems mentioned above, both governments and individuals should take steps. To illustrate, stringent laws should be implemented by governments to allow offenders to understand that their behaviours have negative consequences. Besides, rehabilitation is also of great importance to encourage them to develop essential life skills and help them to be better prepared for society. For instance, they should be encouraged to study modern information technology, such as programming, in prison, and this would be undoubtedly helpful. Furthermore, offenders themselves should be aware of what they have done and be determined to return to society. In conclusion, loose punishment and lack of skills are the main cause for people to re-offend. As a result, authorities, as well as lawbreakers themselves, should take measures to stop crime.