Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child's development while others think that it is important for children to go to school. Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion

One of the most highly controversial issues today relates to whether we should home-school our children or send them to schools. This essay will examine this question from both points of view and then I will give my own perspective on the matter. On the one hand, learning at home has clear advantages. The most evident one is that it is better adjusted to individual needs and interests. And this is particularly beneficial for talented children whose learning pace is significantly higher than of an average child. They learn not only faster, but also manage to absorb considerably more materials and cope with a higher level of challenge. Unless challenged intellectually and provided with tailored materials and individualised learning environment, such students cannot use the maximum of their potential and maximise their skills. So, for the reasons above, home-schooling is key for the development of gifted learners and should therefore, be strongly encouraged. On the other hand, school is the main pillar of the system of education. It provides students with profound knowledge in a range of academic subjects, hone their social skills and enhances the acquisition of such core skills as critical thinking and problem solving. And all these are obtained through consistent interaction with peers and professional teachers in a friendly and positive environment. Furthermore, schooling offers a range of such additional disciplines as art and music, which heavily contribute to the development of concentration, persistence, and creativity. All these reasons bolster the opinion that schools are the best place to obtain thorough education. In conclusion, regardless of the clear benefits that home-schooling offers, I personally believe that only schools are key successful teaching and achievement of tangible academic goals.