Is it better to take a gap year to travel or to go straight to university? Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Is it better to take a gap year to travel or to go straight to university? Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?After they pass their exams, they take a year to see the world before starting to study. Many school leavers have the choice of starting their studies at universities or at collegeHowever, it is not easy to decide what to do.In my opinion young people should travel around the world because they need to refresh their mind and they will have more experience abroad than in their motherland. Some people say that after finishing school, students should work and save money for something from other countries or just to make friends. But on the other hand, for education, others think that they should travel abroad for experience and some people think that study is more important than travel because they can get a high knowledge and improve their horizons. In conclusion,in my opinion students should firstly travel because they will gain more confidence and individuality.The most important is they will become independence.