Studying art in school improves students' performance in other subjects, because it is easier for multi-skilled students to learn new things. That is why art should be obligatory in schools. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that art should be mandatory content in school as it makes it easier for multi-skilled children to improve their learning ability. Although art may not be for everyone, this essay completely agrees that art gives pupils who are not well-skilled in traditional subjects a sense of accomplishment. According to science, the human brain is divided into two hemispheres, which are responsible for different essential tasks for our survival and development. A person´s unique ability to learn advanced topics such as mathematics is a result of the dominance of his or her left hemisphere, meanwhile, a student with right-side dominance would be good at other things such as art or dance. For instance, the right-side students can be here encouraged to understand mathematics using an art -featured environment, because this is associated with positive feelings for that specific child. And those who are competent in maths, can use art classes as a way to relax the brain and disconnect from advanced topics. On the other hand, making art a mandatory subject may lead to discouragement among some students if they are sure they can become competent enough. The left side is associated with logic and mathetics, but they may lack the ability to visualize or produce a simple stepdance. For example, from my high school days, I remember that I had to a dance class for six months, but I experienced that I difficulties following the instructions for the dance. Consequently, I barely passed that class, whereas I was obtaining top grades in all other subjects. In conclusion, the school should be a place where all students have the same opportunity to develop and build on their main features whether they are left or right-sided in their brain. In my opinion, pupils should be divided into classes suited to their intellectual needs where they can thrive.