Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

The amount of food going to waste is a crucial matter nowadays. More and more people are throwing away food that they bought without finishing it first. This essay will further discuss the reasoning behind it and how we could lessen this habit of wasting consumable products. Lately, as people are getting more busy, they prefer to buy food and drinks on the go for the sake of convenience. These products are usually something easy and quick to produce and consume. Foods and drinks in this category, however, are usually not the best in terms of the quality of it, or the taste of it. This can cause dissatisfaction for the individuals buying it. To illustrate this, workers who buy lunch on their way to work might get something that is right in front of their eyes, like a sandwich. When they are going to eat it, they realize that it does not have much filling which can lead to them not finishing the whole of it. Another reason is overconsumption. Many things are advertised interestingly which could make people to get interested in buying the food that is being shown without actually consuming the product. If this behaviour continues, food waste will be our main problem in the near future. To prevent this from happening, several action steps need to be implemented. Firstly, education about waste and how to manage it should be taught to everyone. This could be in the form of classes at schools or bigger campaigns directed to everyone. Other than that, policies regarding this issue should also be created and emphasized by the authorities to give a lesson to those wasting food. All in all, food waste management is crucial to be learned by every individual, from young to old. By understanding the core problem, hopefully, we can take more sustainable actions to create a better world.