Some people think that it is fine for professional sportsmen and sportswomen to misbehave on or off the field, as long as they are playing well. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a frequent theme that is discussed a lot these days, whether professional athletes should take care of their behaviour on and off the field. Some people believe that the actions done by sportsmen do not matter that much, as long they are doing their job well. However, I disagree with the statement above because sportsmen and sportswomen often are seen as role models. First of all, athletes should be aware of their power, young people consider them idols. Famous players should take care of their actions and behaviours not only while on the field but most important during their private life. This is because if a person is really that famous his/her actions are instantly reported on various social media like Twitter and Facebook. For example, it happened that a famous basketball player of the charlotte hornets was accused of domestic violence by his wife and in a nick of time the news was all around the Internet. Secondly, misbehaving is always wrong, especially if this is done by people who have a huge influence on society. In the NBA, for example, there always has been the thought of "shut up and dribble" which is a philosophy that suggests that players don't need to be put in the position to talk about everything except for basketball. This a philosophy that I don't understand because those athletes have a widespread community that follows them and it is their duty to portray a positive and healthy image. To conclude, I believe that sportsmen should take care of their actions on and off the field, because they are seen as role models by a huge part of the society