With a growing world population one of the most pressing issue is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

World is facing the problem of overpopulation and giving foods to these people is crucial matter nowadays. As with the increase in growth rate of people the difficulty in feeding them also arises so, according to narrative of some individuals genetically modified foods give an answer to all these issues. I partially agree with the given statement because this is the need of the time to shift towards a viable solution of this problem. On the one hand, GM foodstuff has a plethora of benefits and some will be discussed here. Firstly, they are resistant to pesticides, viruses and other diseases as the genes of these crops, vegetables and fruits are encoded for the better and desired features. For example, the shelf life of corns and potatoes are now longer due to the alterations in their genetics. Secondly, their nutrients levels are improved because of changes made in their DNA, like golden rice has more nutrients than normal rice thus it fulfils the requirement of vitamins in the body. Thirdly, the flavour and attractiveness of crops are enhanced in the process of genetic engineering as the colour of apple and cherries are extra bright and beautiful when they are produced through this process. On the contrary, drawbacks of GM related items are primarily, the contaminations it cause to the surrounding environment are very dangerous for example, other insects and plants that feed from these harvests can get their DNA's as altered and which could have an adverse effects on the food chain. Moreover, it also creates negative impacts on the health of humans and some can even get allergic reactions while others could diagnosed with cancer. It can also create antibacterial resistance in a person's body due to which his reaction to certain diseases will be changed. In conclusion, after discussing both the views, I believe that genetically bioengineered products could be used to a certain extent however, more research is required in this field to overcome its drawbacks.