In Britain, when someone gets old, they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Like most other countries, the UK government often pays for the elderly care facility to provide specialist care to its older citizens. These residential care homes are costly to operate, and it is debatable whether the government or the family should bear these costs. I think the government should fund and provide at least rudimentary facilities, although the family should also make some financial contribution to assist with better care for their elderly relatives. In many cultures, over generations, people are taught to care for their elderly parents, including providing financial support. Parents work hard to raise their young children and provide them with the best education, so they become independent and find well-paid jobs. Hence, they should be expected to be responsible for their parents when they grow old, including care in a nursing home, particularly if they do not have the financial means to support themselves. For instance, a study by Agewell Foundation found that many strongly agreed with looking after their elderly parents, including providing the necessary financial support for nursing care facilities. Consequently, considering family values, it could be argued that financially stable families should pay for the maintenance of elderly people. Nonetheless, not all families can afford the expensive nursing home fees. It would be unreasonable to bankrupt working people to provide care for elderly relatives who require specialist intervention. More importantly, throughout their careers, people pay taxes to the government, and it is reasonable for them to expect a return for this money. The government should plan appropriately for the future and budget accordingly, setting money aside for state pension pots and residential care for elderly people whose families can no longer support them. For these reasons, it should be the government ’s responsibility to pay for nursing home care. In conclusion, there is a clear argument that families should pay for the care of their elderly relatives. However, I believe the government should cover these costs and use the tax money people paid to provide for them if they need care in their old age since not everyone can afford to pay for residential care facilities.