New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The way children use their leisure time has been modified due to the advent of new technological dives. From my point of view, although this tendency has some benefits, it cannot surpass its drawbacks. On the other hand, it is undeniable that new technologies have altered the way children spend their free time positively. Firstly, playing video games may play an important role in developing children ’s cognitive development. In other words, strategic games such as Pikachu or Poke demand kids to deal with intellectual problems to overcome obstacles, and therefore, may improve their critical thinking and problem-solving skills. Improving knowledge should also be taken into consideration. There is a huge and available database on the internet which may be beneficial for students to look for information related to their studies. However, I believe that the disadvantages of new technologies should not be underestimated. Video games, especially role-playing games like the witcher or Diablo are likely to be addictive for children. As a result, they may spend almost time a day immersing themselves in the virtual realm online and neglect their studies. Furthermore, spending too much time in front of computer monitors is likely to develop a sedentary lifestyle. That means children show a greater preference for sitting instead of participating in outdoor activities or sports. In conclusion, even though the appearance of new technologies has some benefits for children, I believe its drawbacks cannot be overshadowed.