Some people think that history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past can help us better understand the present. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

History, as the core of education, plays a key role in helping human beings be aware of global progression. Otherwise, some oppose that the past has nothing to tell, while there is an opinion on how beneficial the past can boost people’s understanding of the present through historical events. I do strongly side with the latter view due to various reasons. Obviously, there are many reasons to promote the learning of history. First of all, the value of those historical events is undeniable. For instance, by learning the causes and effects of armed conflicts in the past, modern citizens could have awareness about the devastating effect of wars as well as how to avoid them. In addition, there have been many controversial events over the ages which can only be comprehended by careful research. For example, the use of nuclear weapons in Hiroshima and Nagasaki is criticized by Japanese people, but praised by Americans as the quickest way to end World War II. Conversely, some people think that history has no importance in our daily life or there are few lessons and experienced practices that a piece of historical knowledge can provide. For example, employees who seek a job must know about state-of-the-art technology instead of dates and places of the past. On top of that, those who specialize in the concepts of natural science would find history as non-productive and problematic. To be specific, their goals are to find feasible solutions for mathematical puzzles, not to recall the date and place of an event forgotten by most. To sum up, history may not play a completely excellent role in all science fields, but it symbolizes the origin of the world in the past. And I strongly suggest any individuals benefit from their insight through learning not only history but other necessary skills.