Although, more and more people read news on the internet, newspaper will remian the most important source of news. Do you agree or disagree?

Some believe that despite the rise in consumption of online news, newspapers will always be the primary news source for most. In my opinion, though newspapers may remain more trustworthy, online news will surely only become more popular in the future. Those who argue for the primacy of newspapers point out their reputations. Before publication, newspaper articles are researched thoroughly, often for several months, by accomplished and professional writers who then pass their articles on to editors who verify the information and approve inclusion in the next edition. Most individuals are dimly aware of this process and therefore more likely to carefully read and trust reputable papers like The New York Times and Washington Post. This stands in marked contrast to online news which is written hastily and published instantly, often with the intended purpose of generating clicks and advertising revenue rather than accurately informing their audience. Nonetheless, the majority of people already receive most news from sources other than newspapers. This includes television and podcasts, but websites and social media now dominate the media landscape. Most individuals find articles through websites like Facebook and Twitter that allow for the direct posting of links, which can then redirect users to a primary news source. Other more popular social media, including YouTube, Instagram, and TikTok, are more likely to aggregate and summarize or respond to recent news stories. Their potential audience is far wider than the dwindling circulations of physical newspapers. In conclusion, despite the reliability of newspapers, there is little that can curb the growing ubiquity of online news. Individuals must therefore be more discerning as to which influencers they trust.