Many cities around the world are facing severe air pollution problems. What do you think are the main causes of this issue? Suggest some possible solutions.

Environmental issues have been attracting global attention as the percentage is currently increasing and impacting many cities in the world. Further in this essay, I will examine the causes as well as propose some solutions to tackle this. There are two contributing factors to polluted air in big cities. Firstly, carbon emissions (CO2) that are usually produced by personal vehicles or industrial areas contain harmful gasses to the environment. As more people, especially in dense cities such as Jakarta and Bangkok, prefer to use cars or motorcycles over public transportation leads to more carbon dioxide being released into the air. Likewise, the situation is exacerbated due to deforestation which is driven by the demand for expanding urban areas and land. This occurs to convert into conventional purposes such as housing, tall buildings, or even malls. Jakarta is one of the examples where many new malls are being established every year while eco-friendly spaces are hard to find. To address this issue, comprehensive collaboration between citizens and government must be implemented. Encouraging the use of public transportation, promoting sustainable urban planning practices, as well as making stricter rules to the stakeholders and industrial companies regarding the carbon emissions are the essential steps. Furthermore, reforestation and establishing more green spaces such as city forests play crucial roles in mitigating the adverse effects of the harmful gasses. To conclude, polluted air is undeniably a serious problem that big cities around the globe are currently facing. The increasing users of personal vehicles as well as the lack of greeneries in populated cities are the main causes why the issue happens. Thus, a holistic and coordinated approach between people and government is necessary to combat the root causes of environmental degradation in urban areas.