Many people do not pay enough attention to their mental and physical well-being. What are the causes of this? Support your opinion with explanations and examples and provide possible solutions.

In today's modern lifestyle people do not care much about their physical or mental health. In this essay, we will discuss the causes and explain the measures that governments and individuals can take to address the problem. Two of the main threats, which have led us to be numb about our well-being, are the media and competition in the workplace. First, The media have normalized the sedentary lifestyle by advertising junk foods which can contribute to diseases like obesity or high blood pressure. In addition, people spend a huge amount of the day just sitting on a couch watching tv programs, the time in which they could exercise and spend with their family. Furthermore, the fast-paced lifestyle and the competition in the workplace have left no choice for employees to spend more energy to be the best and have a higher salary. Spending less time with family and getting relaxed can have a detrimental effect on workers' mental health. To solve these issues, individuals must manage their schedules and dedicate themselves to family and personal activities. Of course, no one can leave one's job and spend the whole day for leisure but they can set up a timetable in which the time dedicated to each activity is limited so they can be more efficient and address all the tasks. Also, the law could certainly reduce the public tendency to consume junk food. In this case, authorities can put some taxes on foods that have negative effects. Moreover, they can reduce fast food advertisements and make some programs to increase public awareness about the disadvantages to their well-being. In conclusion, both individuals and government must play their roles to reverse this trend and protect their mental and physical well-being.